Day 18: Coming Up for Air

Today’s aches and pains: Legs and butt, from 75 box jumps last night. Back and shoulders, from 5 reps of squat cleans at max weight from Monday and 25 more squat cleans and 50 ball cleans last night. Abs, which still feel like they are tearing dozens of times a day when I sneeze (Bah! Allergies!), from what I estimate to have been about 80 sit-ups on Monday night. I will say, though, that last night I did NOT finish last, but squarely in the middle with most of the other folks in the class (the Boyfriend finished first by a pretty wide margin… typical), and even though I came THIS close to vomiting at the end of the 800m run that rounded out our WOD, I held it together (not for lack of trying… I actually walked around the corner after the run was over to throw up only to find a bunch of kids who I did not feel like scarring for life, so I managed to keep it in).

We have been working out on a pretty consistent every-other-day basis, and on this schedule I feel that my body is not so much recovering between WODs but more like coming up for air. Like in the beginning of Jaws, when the girl gets pulled under water and pops back up a few seconds later, hyperventilates a little bit, then is dragged back under the water… that’s sort of how my back muscles have felt. In a classic show of good timing, my best friend (who is preparing to walk across Rwanda while creating a photojournalism piece about the future of the Rwandan people, which you can read more about here) is having a going away party on Friday night, squarely conflicting with our Friday night WOD. Since it’s not every day that someone leaves to walk across one of the more dangerous countries in the world, we are taking Friday off, to send her off on her journey and also to give our muscles a chance to breathe just a little.

With a solid 2.5 weeks of Crossfit under my belt at this point, I have to say that I am loving it. It is definitely hard, and like I mentioned in my post a few days ago, it has been harder in some ways than in others, and not necessarily in the ways I was expecting. I feel like most worthwhile challenges that a person undertakes are characterized by their lack of predictability, though. If you can anticipate and feel prepared for each development, each twist and turn, well then maybe you aren’t really challenging yourself like you should be. I’ve definitely found that the most rewarding and valuable experiences I’ve had have surprised me, thrown me on my ass, and even made me cry a few times. And let’s be honest, it’s only a matter of time before a WOD makes me cry.

3 thoughts on “Day 18: Coming Up for Air

  1. WODs make me cry all the time, but I still do it. I have so much fear going into the box every morning, but at the end it’s like “I’ve accomplished something I didn’t think I could, I’m getting stronger.” I keep that in mind as the vomit sits in the bottom of my throat after the 20th squat cleans. Glad you’re loving it.

  2. I just came across your blog- and I love it 🙂 I have yet to do cross-fit but I’m really hoping to soon.. As a yoga/fitness teacher I am constantly reminding people to step out of their comfort zone and run right at whatever it is they are scared of. People never see their true potential and often times hide behind their “I can’t” Mantra- that is a no go in my classroom. In fact if anyone says it- not only do I correct them and make them change there statement… I also make them do whatever it is they say they can’t- again. Hah.. it might be kind of mean, but my regulars never say they can’t which means my job is done.. You have to believe you can do it before you can. 🙂 Keep up the great work- I look forward to seeing your progress!

  3. Good Blog. your a good Writer. enjoy reading all of your adventures. i Do CF and love it. i also love hearing about your diet. we try to eat Paleo and it can be hard @ times but it will change your body.
    keep working hard.

Leave a Reply

