Day 71: Goals for the Week

Tape gloves for the win!

I had a great and busy weekend. On Saturday I went to the 1st birthday of the daughter of my high school Bible study leader. She (the daughter) is the cutest tiny ginger child I’ve ever seen. And redheads have to stick together, you know. Then I went to the engagement party of one of my best friends and drank wine and ate heart-shaped falafel. What’s not to love.

Yesterday the BF and I, along with a few other friends, checked out a new climbing area  a few hours southwest of Denver called Turkey Rocks. It was described as having one of the best concentrations of crack climbs in Colorado, but we are spoiled from living in Moab and were a little disappointed when we got there and weren’t greeted by sandstone splitters. Nonetheless the day was a lot of fun and I felt really strong on the rock, which was great.

The Boyfriend’s mom is coming to visit this week/weekend, so things are going to be a little busy for the next few days. Even though we’ve been together for almost 2 years, this will be only the 2nd time I’ve spent time with his mom! So I’ve decided to put together a few goals to keep me on track while we undoubtedly eat out several times this week and maybe even have to skip a WOD in the interest of entertaining guests.

Goals for the Week!

1. Get in at least 2 official WODs and at least 2 other physical activities

2. Drink no more than 3 alcoholic drinks between now and next Monday

3. Eat Claire-Paleo (the name I’ve decided to give my updated Paleo-style diet, with a little less meat and a lot more brown rice than actual Paleo) for all meals except 2.

4. Pack a lunch every day (except for today, because I already didn’t…)

It’s pretty easy to get off track and tell yourself that indulging is OK when you are out to dinner or feeling busy. I think this really could just be summed up by saying, “Don’t let yourself do anything you wouldn’t normally do!”

3 thoughts on “Day 71: Goals for the Week

    • You definitely need to move to Colorado, it is the best. ESPECIALLY if you live in Texas… I know, I know, Austin isn’t really Texas, but… yes it is 🙂 And thanks for the link! As a dietician I would really be interested to hear your thoughts on Paleo!

  1. I basically eat according to paleo just a little tweaked. I eat grains but nothing that contains gluten most days of the week and beans are on the menu as well. Other than that all the restrictions are the same. I think paleo is a great way to eat, but if you are feeling it is a restricting diet then it isn’t going to work. If any diet feels like a restriction it will fail. To make the “diet” (it’s not really a diet, it’s a lifestyle) I am currently on work I incorporate what I call one to two rest meals a week. They are just a break from the norm when I can eat gluten, dairy, and/or sugar. Paleo has the right thinking and I would advise anyone that likes it to keep doing it. I am excited to read more of your posts. I kind of want to start from the beginning and see all what happened. Keep up the great work. Almost to 90 days. Oh so I decided to join a HIT center instead of crossfit. Thanks for inspiring me to do so.

Leave a Reply

