Day 88: Paleo Strawberry Cake

This cake is DELICIOUS. It tastes like strawberry shortcake, but it’s grain free, gluten free, and sugar free. I’ve been eating it straight out of the pan with a spoon. However… it does have butter and honey in it.

I consider butter to be Paleo (and use it sparingly in my diet) because it so closely mimics animal fat, but it is technically dairy and therefore is not technically Paleo (you can read more about butter and Paleo here). And the jury is out on whether or not honey is Paleo because it has a high glycemic index, but the amount of honey you would have to consume for it to have any more of an effect on your body than, say, an apple is pretty extreme. So there you have it.

I thought about substituting coconut oil for the butter, but since there is hardly any sweetener and no cream or anything in here, the browned butter is really where the cake gets its richness. I think if you used coconut oil you would end up missing a lot of depth in the flavor.

I found this recipe on The Roost Blog via foodgawker.com. If you haven’t been over to foodgawker, I would highly suggest checking it out–it’s where I find probably at least half of my new recipes, especially paleo and gluten-free ones.

Please click here for the original recipe–her pictures are MUCH nicer than mine plus she includes a great recipe for paleo meringue frosting.
Brown Butter Strawberry Cake (makes 1- 8inch round cake) Note* I made mine in a 10″ pan because that’s all I had. I baked it for 15 minutes instead of 30 and it turned out great! I think this could also be adapted into muffins, just keep an eye on your time. I also think you could really add any fruit to this that you want. I think next time I might also add some rhubarb.

1 3/4 cup almond flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
2 TBS honey
3 eggs
1/2 TBS pure vanilla extract
4 TBS butter
1/2 cup quartered strawberries (about 8-10)
Preheat oven to 350F.

Grease an 8inch round cake pan. Trace the bottom of the pan on parchment paper, cut out circle and place on bottom of pan.

Melt butter in a small pan over medium/low heat until browned and fragrant. Set aside.

In a blender pulse almond flour, salt and baking soda until combined. Add honey, eggs, vanilla, and brown butter. Blend until smooth.

Pour mixture into a bowl and fold in quartered strawberries. Pour batter into prepared cake pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes

6 thoughts on “Day 88: Paleo Strawberry Cake

  1. Hey Claire. Allison Filderman here, from high school…. haha! It has been awhile. I have been following your blog from facebook because I have been eating grain and sugar and mostly dairy free for the past 3 months. Wahoo! Thanks for sharing your experiences and recipes. This looks delish.

    • Hey Allison! You would be surprised how many people I run into from high school (since I live in Denver it happens constantly) who say, “So how’s CrossFit going? I read your blog!” It’s so fun, that’s what’s great about blogs–staying in touch without even knowing it 🙂 I hope you’re doing well! And you should definitely try the cake, it’s ridiculously good!

  2. Thanks for leaving the site you got your recipe from. I’m trying to add some new recipes in to our weekly routine. What are some of the dinners you have tried that you loved?

    • Hey Becky! Definitely check out foodgawker and you can search things like “Gluten Free,” etc. We also love spaghetti squash with pesto and roma tomatoes, and last night I made spinach fritters that I will post a recipe for in a few days but you can really make fritters out of anything. We also eat a lot of sweet potato hash-style things where we just throw whatever we have in with small cubes of sweet potatoes. And my new favorite gluten-free but not Paleo snack is sea salt rice cakes with a thick layer of avocado and some garlic salt on the top.

Leave a Reply

