Super Fluffy Paleo Zucchini Bread Pancakes

Day 2 of Paleo August, and I am proud to report that not only did I not eat a single bite of Ben & Jerry’s (!), I also accompanied a co-worker to Good Times and didn’t even sneak a fry. Man I am good. Unfortunately I did mess up on accident, as last night I was about 90% of the way through a delicious, juicy, salty ear of grilled corn when I remembered, “Ah crap, corn is a grain.” But I’m still counting Day 1 as a success because despite that semi-major gaffe, it wasn’t on purpose… so somehow I think it’s less bad.

Also, last night we made Paleo Zucchini Bread Pancakes! This was inspired by a recipe from Smitten Kitchen, which is my very favorite food blog but is not even remotely Paleo. So I looked at her recipe, realized it was essentially a normal pancake recipe with a little extra thickener, some nutmeg, and shredded zucchini, and went to town trying to convert it using a basic almond flour pancake base. It took a little trial and error but here ya go!

Ingredients:

1.5 cups almond flour

3 whole eggs

3 egg whites

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 tbsp nutmeg

2 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp raw honey

pinch of salt

1 medium zucchini, shredded

Directions:

Combine all ingredients except egg whites together in a large bowl.

In a separate, medium-sized bowl, whip egg whites until white, stiff peaks form. (This is where the fluffy comes in. I did this using my own two hands and a fork, so no excuses!)

Slowly fold the whipped egg whites into the batter.

Cook pancakes over medium heat in a greased skillet–we used coconut oil but I bet butter would be better…

Notes: Zucchini is pretty watery, so you might find that you want to add a little more flour. I used 2 tbsp of honey because I wasn’t planning on serving the pancakes with syrup, but if you are using syrup you might only need 1 tbsp of honey. Also, the batter can be refrigerated for later use but the egg whites won’t stay fluffy so that will change the consistency of the pancake a little bit.

One thought on “Super Fluffy Paleo Zucchini Bread Pancakes

  1. Do you always use a colorful notebook? I used to do that back in high school. I’d start every year with fresh notebooks and Crayola thin markers.. and write out all my notes in pretty colors.. it didn’t last.. hehe.

Leave a Reply

