Plants & Animals

Thanks to everyone who offered their advice yesterday, it means a lot! I took little bits and pieces of what you all said, and decided to take a few days off, but not too many, to hit a little reset button and make some new goals. Also you all reminded me that smaller accomplishments are just as important as the larger accomplishments, which I need to work on remembering!

Anyway, another thing I have been thinking about is my diet. This morning I was directed by a friend and fellow CrossFitter’s blog to a short article written by a CrossFit trainer about Paleo vs. vegan. He said that he had always coached his clients to eat Paleo, telling them that they would never be able to gain muscle without a diet full of meat, but then realized one day that he had never tried training on a plant-based diet and therefore was pretty much just preaching ignorance. He spent six weeks eating vegan (but still grain-free), and was surprised by how much energy he had, how well he performed, and especially that his body didn’t actually seem to need extreme amounts of meat in order to build muscle.

That article really got me thinkin. I have always talked about how I like the idea of eating Paleo, but it just seems like too much meat. I feel sluggish and heavy when I eat a lot of meat (like right now, since I had a piece of smoked salmon and about a cup and 1/2 of ground bison for lunch…), but have kind of felt obligated to eat Paleo since it’s such a CrossFit thing. But… I think the time has come for me to stop focusing my meals around the consumption of animal protein, at least for a while… and I am pretty excited about it.

First up on my list is to make more of this paleo granola. Holy crap this stuff is good. I don’t even eat it with milk, I just eat it like trail mix by the handful. But let me give you a tip: It only calls for 1 tsp of cinnamon, but I used more like 1/8 cup, and I would highly recommend that approach.

6 thoughts on “Plants & Animals

  1. That’s why I like the “Paleo template” way of thinking—it allows for a person to chose what their diet base needs to be. Paleo doesn’t have to be meat-laden or low carb. I think this gets lost in the “eat all the bacon you want” message some people promote. I feel better with meat, but only if the bulk of my diet is veg and greens. Thanks for the granola link! And enjoy your days off. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

