Some New Goals

On an unrelated note, this is a photo one of my friends took on Mt. Evans after our backpacking trip a few weeks ago… Gorgeous!

Well, here we go. A fresh batch of goals to re-spark my CrossFit motivation. And what do we know about goals? Well, the outdoor educator in me says that goals need to be SMART: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Timely (woo dorky acronyms!). As such, most of the goals I have come up with in the past few days are super specific and relatively short-term. There are kind of a lot of them, but that’s because many are things I have been doing already and just want to keep doing (like doing 3 WODs per week or progressing with my DUs), or are at least things that I’ve already been working towards (like a pull-up and a 9-minute mile), and many are closely related (for example, if I can get one strict pull-up, a kipping pull-up should be right behind). Not all are directly CrossFit-specific, but they are all related to my physical health, and hopefully they cover some areas that I have been neglecting in the past few months.

Anyway, without further ado:

Claire’s Health & Fitness Goals, Fall 2012
(to be completed by December 31, 2012, unless otherwise noted)
**Denotes Bonus Goal… i.e. potentially unrealistic πŸ™‚
PS, I am going to post this list as it’s own pageΒ (which will also appear in the right sidebar–>), so I can go back and cross out goals as I complete them, and also you can check in on me sometimes, too!

  1. Complete at least three WODs each week
  2. Complete at least one additional skiing-specific WOD each week (can be done at home)
  3. Complete at least two WODs with Thrusters using 65# (currently using 45# or 55#)
  4. Complete at least one WOD with only strict push-ups**
  5. Do one strict pull-up
  6. Do one kipping pull-up
  7. Do one strict ring dip**
  8. Do one strict handstand push-up**
  9. Deadlift 160# (current PR is 145)
  10. Clean & Jerk 100# (current PR is 90)
  11. Bodyweight backsquat**
  12. Run a 9-minute mile
  13. Link 60 DUs (current PR is 43)
  14. Eat 100% Paleo at least 3 days per week
  15. Spend at least two days per week without eating meat, preferably one day with no animal protein at all
  16. Take at least two yoga classes per month
  17. Work on flexibility to be able to consistently touch toes when not warmed up
  18. Work on flexibility to be able to do splits when warmed up**
  19. Read at least three nutrition- or health-related books
  20. Keep a detailed food journal

What do you think? Can one person accomplish all this in 3 and 1/2 months?

9 thoughts on “Some New Goals

  1. Yes! You got them all! πŸ™‚

    I think writing them down is awesome; I like my “Goals” page and constantly adding to it. I like doing mini-goals, too.. Like “Do one pull-up”, then “Do 5 pull-ups”.. just to have more things to work harder for, but still can feel accomplished with checking things off.

    I think these are all completely attainable in 3 months! πŸ™‚

  2. This is AWESOME! Looking forward to seeing you cross them all off one by one. Not sure if you’ve looked yet, but there are some great free online food diary sites (FitDay is the one I liked best). You can customize food entries and they will make all kinds of graphs and charts to show your macro and micro nutrient intake, which is visually helpful. Trying to get 100% or more of your RDA for all the vitamins and minerals from food alone is surprisingly challenging. I’m excited for you!

    • Thanks!! I am psyched, which is a great feeling after being so un-excited about CrossFit in the past few weeks. As for the food journal, I have finally realized that I do a lot better if I just take notes with my pink sharpie πŸ™‚ Not quite as informative, unfortunately (or maybe that actually is a good thing!), but it just feels more legit if I physically write it down I guess.

  3. I think almost all of your goals are very do-able in 3 1/2 months. The only one I think may be a little out of reach is a strict hspu. That is if you are tapping your head all the way to the floor and not kipping to get yourself up. That is danggg hard.
    I also think that if you can do a strict pull up, you should be able to do more than 1 kipping pull up… πŸ™‚
    I just noticed you have *** next to some that are what u believe may be out of reach… lol however, I think a strict ring dip is more do-able.
    At any rate, keep up the good work and get going on those goals! I love reading your blog posts!

    • Thanks, Janet! It’s funny how my arm strength is distributed. I feel like my shoulders have gained WAY more strength in relation to other parts of my body… I can’t even hold myself on the rings with straight arms because of my lack of tricep and bicep stability, but can already do a kipping HSPU with no mats! So who knows! I’m hoping I will surprise myself πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

