A World of Hurt

Last night’s WOD was not a fun one to come back to after my 6-day break. When I showed up, my friend Whitney (who just joined our gym, woo!) told me she had gotten a text from a friend in an earlier class that read, “You are in for a world of hurt.” Definitely what you want to hear when you show up! The WOD was 10 Turkish Get-Ups, 20 Push-Ups, 30 Pull-Ups, 40 Sit-Ups, 50 Burpees, 40 Sit-Ups, 30 Box Jumps, 20 Push-Ups, 10 Turkish Get-Ups. I finished in 21:05… just over the 21-minute mark, which I seem to do a lot. But I will say that I killed it on the box jumps, only used one band for the pull-ups when six months ago I was using three bands, and felt fairly solid on the Turkish Get-Ups, which I did with a 20# kettlebell. Oh and then we turned around and did the 6:30AM WOD this morning. Hello, welcome back to CrossFit!

More importantly, let’s talk about how great the quote at the top of this post is. Because there are DEFINITELY not enough cowboy astronaut nobel prize-winners. I’m not so sure about the astronaut or the nobel prize-winning part of it, but I know I have definitely always wanted to be a cowboy.

But really, if I could be ANYTHING in the world, I would be a mountaineering guide… or a professional ballet dancer. I bet that first answer doesn’t surprise any of you, but the second one might! I have always wanted to be able to leap and bend and twirl like that… but for right now, I will have to work on being able to touch my toes.

Fill in the blank: If I could wake up tomorrow morning and be anything in the world, I would be…

3 thoughts on “A World of Hurt

Leave a Reply

